Charles Borges de Oliveira’s process, in his own words

“I always like tutorials on how people do things. So for fun I decided to make this little tutorial piece on how I do some commercial lettering. The materials I use are:
1. Scharff 3000 Fine Line Red Sable pointed brush.
2. Borden and Riley Parchment Paper (tracing paper for the smooth surface) This comes on a roll and is cheaper than buying it in pads. I get this from a art store in Seattle.
3. Moon Palace Sumi Ink
4. Communion Cups for holding ink (optional) Free from local churches
5. Stir sticks (popscicle sticks bought at dollar store package of 100)”

“First I start out by getting the ink to the right consistency by diluting with water in my communion cup.
The brush I am using is one of the nicest pointed brushes I have used. I highly recommend these. The one I used on these lettering samples was barbered. I cut the tip off and turned the brush into a quasi chisel – pointed brush.
The picture on the left is the brush dry and the other one is the brush palleted. You can see the hair comes to a cropped point. I like this as it really produces some nice effects when starting and pulling strokes. The Sables do not need to be oiled like quills.”

“Next I tear off a piece of the tracing paper and start lettering.
When Doing commercial lettering I like to letter the word or phrase multiple times and then cut up the best pieces.
Some people can knock stuff out in one shot but I am not one… of those people. It usually takes me a couple of times to get it right.”

“After cutting apart my letters I scan them into photoshop and compile the word. Here is a picture of Interests. Next I bring it into Illustrator and redraw it in vector format. It is better to give a customer a vectorized artwork as opposed to a bitmap if you can help it.”

“Here is the finished artwork in Illustrator.
Notice I changed the T’s. I figured the looped t was a bit much.”

“Here is a sample of the lettering on the tracing paper. You can produce lots of different styles by which the angle of the hair is applied to the paper. Also trimming this brush makes doing 50’s style casuals alot easier.
This tutorial was made for my friends at http://www.creativesignmakers.com hence the CSA”

To see more of Charles’ work please visit his website.

Thanks for sharing Charles!

About Alex Savakis

Interactive designer. Lettering designer. Living and working in Greater Los Angeles.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for creating this blog. It’s always fascinating to take a peek backsage

    • You’re welcome, Shane. I’m glad to know you’re enjoying a peek backstage. Throughout the blog I posted other lettering folks’ processes. I hope you’ll consider creating a lettering design which I’ll happily share.

  2. Pingback: Charles Borges de Oliveira’s process, in his own words | Work by Alex Savakis

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers

